Another Day at the Office

27 Sep

I reached over to the bedside table, turned off the alarm and rolled onto my back to stare up through the skylight.
I studied in detail the bottom of the seagull’s feet.
The seagull glanced at me, nonchalantly, nodded me a greeting, like he did every morning, and then went back to playing with his pebble.
I gave a thought to Paul Gascoigne.
“Do you ever wake up and feel like crying because you’ve woken up?” she asked, as she rolled onto her back to lie next to me.
I said, “No.”
And then I wondered what the most complex thought ever to cross a seagull’s mind might be.
“Do you?” I asked.
“No.”
Of course I knew she was lying, just like she knew I was.
Only someone who had had that thought would ask that question.
“Stay here,” I said, and I walked out of the room and down the stairs.
I liked the feeling of being completely naked in my kitchen on a sunny morning.
Even the postman laughed with me as he came down the path, whistling to himself.
I returned to the bedroom with a plate of crumpets, topped with Marmite and melted cheese, and two cups of tea.
I was in a good mood,
So I put on her playlist instead of mine.
I shaved, shitted and showered,
And went to work.
At lunch time she phoned me.
“Have you been dipping into our bowl of Valiums?” she asked.
I said, “No.”
Then I watched Jason drink some of his tea, and I wondered how he could enjoy it without sugar.
“Have you?” I asked.
“No.”
Of course I knew she was lying, just like she knew I was.
“Okay. I love you,” she said.
“Good. I love you.”
And then I wished that there had been a flavour other than ready salted left in the multi-pack when I’d packed my lunch that morning.
And I despised Sharon for having a poster on the wall above her desk that read, ‘You don’t have to be crazy to work here, but it helps.’

Leave a Reply

Playin with the Players

Playin with the Players

thisisyouth

On the quest to live an interesting life.

an aimless hitchhiker...

a diary of a vagabond woman

Apropos of Nothing

for writing out loud

Projecting the Void

Random scribblings from the diaphanous inner mind of a neon cat

Atheisting

religion, politics, & sexuality from a feminist freethinker.

dinsanga11

Stoner's Story

FLOCKZINE

Childhood | Adulthood

Kryssie's Blog

I listen, I think, I speak.

elizabethburgess15

A PhD student's thoughts on all things Spanish and Sociolinguistics

A long way to justice: A route to the Roma grassroots

Vicente and Rebekah drive Spain to India.

Pinkjumpers

The corner of the internet where you should probably turn around.

Express Me, Then Depress Me

Suffers from instant need to flash breasts and yell at strangers. People think it's my inner feminist, but no, I'm just crazy, and not always in a fun way.

